Product Code Database
barcode-scavenger
   » » Barcode: 9780143037224
Tag Barcode '9780143037224'.
Tag
Mark as Favorite

Cotton : The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber by Stephen Yafa (2006, Paperback)
 (

ISBN 9780143037224
REGISTERED: 08/21/18
UPDATED: 01/22/22
Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber

Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber


Specifications
  • Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber available on March 28 2016 from Amazon for 2.98
  • ISBN bar code 9780143037224 ξ3 registered February 11 2017
  • ISBN bar code 9780143037224 ξ4 registered October 03 2014
  • ISBN bar code 9780143037224 ξ1 registered March 26 2012
  • ISBN bar code 9780143037224 ξ2 registered March 26 2012
  • Product category is Book
  • Manufacturered by Penguin Books

  • Product weight is 0.67 lbs.
In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and Salt, this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of nations. Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating Calvin Klein's empire and the Gap, Stephen Yafa's Cotton gives us an intimate look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution as well as the American Civil War, and that made at least one bug—the boll weevil—world famous. A sweeping chronicle of ingenuity, greed,  conflict, and opportunism, Cotton offers "a barrage of fascinating information" (Los Angeles Times).

References
    ^ (2012). Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber, Penguin (Non-Classics). (revised Dec 2015)
    ^ (2012). 9780143037224, Penguin (Non-Classics). (revised Oct 2012)
    ^ Cotton : The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber by Stephen Yafa (2006, Paperback) (revised Feb 2017)
    ^ (2006). Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber, Penguin Books. Amazon. (revised Mar 2016)

Page 1 of 1
1
Blackstar Blackstar Blackstar Blackstar Blackstar

   I've got this on my Kindle and I'll re-read it again in the future; it's that interesting! All you ever wanted to know about cotton and more. The comparison about the collapse of the cotton market to the collapse of our car market is compelling, because our economy was affected in both cases in the same way. Our car executives should have read this book years ago; but then, wait, it hadn't been published yet. Interesting enough for the general publi..
( )
Blackstar Blackstar Blackstar Blackstar Blackstar

Fascinating book, well written, unfortunately my paperback copy is missing pages 175 to 206. It doubles one chapter, so check when you get your copy. Sophia
( )

Account

Social:
Pages:  ..   .. 
Items:  .. 

Navigation

General: Atom Feed Atom Feed  .. 
Help:  ..   .. 
Category:  ..   .. 
Media:  ..   .. 
Posts:  ..   ..   .. 

Statistics

Page:  .. 
Summary:  .. 
1 Tags
3/10 Page Rank
128 Page Refs
7s Time
32 Sources